Spirit Rising

Angelique Kidjo

Angelique Kidjo Spirit Rising
  • CD1: 1. Tumba
  • CD1: 2. Afrika
  • CD1: 3. Redemption Song
  • CD1: 4. Agolo
  • CD1: 5. Gimme Sheltre (with Dianne Reeves)
  • CD1: 6. Malaika
  • CD1: 7. Summertime
  • CD1: 8. Batonga
  • CD1: 9. Pearls (with Josh Groban)
  • CD1: 10. Kdele
  • CD1: 11. Move On Up (with Branford Marsalis)
  • CD1: 12. I Think UR a Contra (with Ezra Koenig)
  • CD1: 13. Lonlon - Ravel's Bolero (with Branford Marsalis)
  • CD1: 14. Monfe Ran E (with Dianne Reeves)
  • CD1: 15. Senamou
  • CD1: 16. N'Yin Wan Nou We

Angelique Kidjo will release her first ever live album, Spirit Rising, on February 20th.  The 16 track album features special guests Josh Groban, Dianne Reeves, Branford Marsalis, Richard Bona and Ezra Koenig (Vampire Weekend).  The record features a collection of Kidjo originals and covers including the Curtis Mayfield classic “Move On Up.” The album showcases Kidjo’s breathtaking voice and exuberant spirit that can only be heard during one of her magical live performances.  The entire show is Kidjo’s personal tribute to her homeland, and the beauty and experiences of the African culture she grew up with and continues to embrace.  Born in the West African country of Benin, Angelique Kidjo is deemed “Africa’s premiere diva” by Time Magazine.  Kidjo was included by the BBC in its list of Africa’s Most Iconic Figures and The Guardian has listed her as one of the Top 100 Most Inspiring Women in the World.  In October 2011, Forbes listed Angelique as the first women in their list of their 40 Most Powerful Celebrities In Africa. 


Search Artist by first letter